Zombies in Church?

cat-1333926__340I don’t watch zombie movies or shows. I do see an increasing infatuation with the concept in the world. I do not have that fascination with the “un-dead”. However, I do see an incredible resemblance to the church-at-large.

Stick with me for just a minute…

I admit to actually being a part of this church “un-dead”. Alive, aware of God and the atoning work of Jesus Christ yet oblivious to Him actually at work in my life. A part of my life that I might actually have to change.

As a life-long Christian, the concept that there may be more to this life of Christian was foreign to me. I do everything I am supposed to do, I read the Bible. I pray for myself and even others. I give my time and money. I attend church regularly. What else am I supposed to do? I don’t get it. How can there be more?

BUT…yes capital B-U-T…

This verse haunts me

Mark 16:17 And these signs will accompany those who believe: In my name they will drive out demons; they will speak in new tongues; 18they will pick up snakes with their hands; and when they drink deadly poison, it will not hurt them at all; they will place their hands on sick people, and they will get well.”

These signs will follow those who believe…

Another one sits right there, ever before me taunting me to ask the Lord for more.

John 14:12 “I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father.

Believes in me will do greater works…

As a person who sits each week in a church seat, praying, worshiping, reading, studying, teaching…and that is not enough. I know God has more for us. I seek more.

I am tired of remaining a part of the zombies in churches. A Christian was never meant to be a pew warmer or mere spectator.

I am dissatisfied with the status quo.

In Bill Johnson’s book “The Supernatural Power of a Transformed Mind” he says about believers, “They develop anesthesia that deadens their sensitivity to personal transformation. They are robbed of experience and can only recite back principles. It is pure religion, form without power.”

How much of church goers know a great deal of Word and Christian vocabulary but lack the personal transformation that shows through actions and change that they KNOW a real God and REAL Savior?

Bill Johnson also makes an interesting and challenging statement: “Revelation should change our hearts before we could ever explain what we learned.”

Here is part of the problem…

1. We measure God’s ability by our experience.

Someone, somewhere prayed for someone to get healed and that person was still sick. The reigning doctrine becomes “God doesn’t heal anymore” “Maybe it’s not God’s will” “I didn’t have enough faith” “The person didn’t have enough faith”. And it’s really more than doctrine it’s a paradigm, a mindset.

We need to change our mindset to be in line with scripture. It is God’s will to heal. He is able to heal. We don’t always understand the word Faith. I heard a story one time about a man who wanted to see God heal. He prayed for 100 people and no one was healed. Finally, he persisted and the 101 person was healed miraculously. We give up too easily sometimes because it didn’t happen our way. I believe we should keep pressing in action and God will do the rest. Pray for 100 people until you see miracles…why not?

2. Doubt and Fear

We don’t risk what we can’t imagine.

We are afraid to look like a failure if someone does not get healed. Or look like a radical for doing something out of the ordinary. You know what? It’s not about me, what I look like, or someone else’s opinion of me. Look at the prophets of old or John the Baptist. They did some crazy things and God used them mightily. Who cares what people think…because when someone gets miraculously healed it won’t matter.

3. We don’t ask for it.

Remember that whole excerpt about you have not because you ask not, and to whomever asks it shall be given? Now, we are not talking about asking for a million dollars although God can provide. We are talking about fulfilling the words of Jesus in the scriptures above. Ask God to show you and use you. Ask Him for more!

I recently heard a revivalist preacher who has seen thousands of miracles challenge listeners to pray for 7 people to be healed and watch what God will do. 7 random strangers, 7 sick people…who is up for the challenge?

 Prayer:

God use me! I choose to be available to you today. I choose to be a vessel for use in the Master’s kingdom. I choose to believe, help my unbelief. Amen

2 Responses to Zombies in Church?

  1. dojams says:

    Excellent Blog! I too have notice the infatuation of the “zombie” shows and movies and games. I see a set up and also revelation. I agree wholeheartedly that the “church” is falling into a zombie like state. We are content to trod in the realm of religious practices and actions instead of being relevant to a lost world. Our quote unquote “leaders” have contented themselves to dwell in the graveyard of politics, popularity and opportunistic possibilities instead of breaking forth as sunlight against the darkness of sin’s residue. Father help us to awake from our “sleep”.

    • Thank you! My favorite scripture is Eph 5:14 “This is why it is said: “Wake up, sleeper, rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.” It is time for Christians to wake up and walk as the Lord intended in power, authority, holiness, and most of all – love. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

