WALLS-Quick thought for the day

Start tearing down walls and building new ones built on the Rock.

I hear people say “I put up walls because of what happened…I don’t want anyone in…I don’t want to be hurt again…I can’t trust anyone”

Have you ever thought about the walls you put up in your life?

I spent several months reading and researching about Nehemiah and the rebuilding of the walls in Jerusalem. In studying that I realized there are many varieties of walls. Both good and bad. I would prefer to have the kind of walls built by the Lord my God–His shelter and His peace will come from that. But, today we will talk about the BAD walls we build.

Walls are strategic separation between you and the outside. Walls can be a good thing. However, a wall built out of anger, hurt, frustration or unforgivenes is a BAD wall. It’s built out of sin and not with God’s love as the foundation. Even if built for protection of your feelings…it is not built on the foundation of Jesus Christ.

Any part of your life NOT built on Jesus as your sure foundation will not stand.

 1. WALLS affect your relationships.

Walls of distrust and unforgiveness strain relationships.

2. The walls around Jerusalem represented the process of redemption.

The last one if you review them clockwise ended with the Sheeps Gate. The Lamb of God is both the sacrificial lamb reconciling us to God and our Good Shepherd.

Your relationships, your life and everything you do should expose people around you to Light not darkness.

3. It takes diligence to guard your heart against ungodly walls

Nehemiah 4:23  So neither I, nor my brethren, nor my servants, nor the men of the guard which followed me, none of us put off our clothes, saving that every one put them off for washing.

Now that is determination! I don’t remember every being so determined to keep an ungodly thing out of my life. In fact, most people welcome WALLS to be built and justify every one of them.

That is called a hard heart. God says…

Ezekiel 36:26  I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.

How do you know if you have BAD walls up?

Ask the Holy Spirit to show you.

James 4:1 From whence come wars and fightings among you? come they not hence, even of your lusts that war in your members?

Practical Application

Prayer:

Heavenly Father, I ask you to show me every place I have put up a wall out of anger, resentment, fear, hurt, frustration or unforgiveness. I ask the Holy Spirit to reveal each wound and every part of darkness in my heart. I choose to  forgive those that hurt me. I choose to allow you to heal my heart now as I yield to your love. Tell me your truth about each wall. Help me to be wise in the future so that no walls of rejection, fear or hurt are ever built again in my life. Instead, build me up in your love, joy, peace, patience, goodness, self-control…build me up on the Rock of Salvation, Jesus Christ. Thank you Lord, in Jesus Name, Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

