Self-Deception Trap

large__5827143430I just read a quote from a man, Jack Deere “If I let out what I was feeling now, I might destroy the self I had worked so long and hard to build.”

Sometimes I can’t put everything I’m thinking into words. That sounds weird because we think in words. Right?

Not exactly, maybe I think in feelings? Not sure.

 

It’s really cool when I read an article or a book that explains exactly what I’m thinking but in words.

After reading the above quote the other day, I then read this article today:

Do You Have Spiritual Blind Spots?
http://ministrytodaymag.com/index.php/ministry-leadership/personal-character/20908-do-you-have-spiritual-blind-spots

He put it best “Spiritual Blind Spots”. We all have these self concepts. I enjoy hearing people describe themselves. Silently, I compare each description to the Word of God and what HE says they are.

You wouldn’t believe the things that we say about ourselves that were never meant for God’s children. And yet we not only accept them but we take ownership of them and brag about them.

Here are common examples. I’m sure you can add many more…

I Can’t

I don’t

I’m not good at…

I was born this way

My parent was this way

It’s just the way it is

That’s life

I’m not loved, or liked

I’m not fun

No one wants to be around me

My sickness/My disease is…

I can never catch a break

I’m not important

People would be better off if I wasn’t here

I’m no good

I’ve done too much wrong

I’m stupid

I deserve bad

Most people don’t say these things too often out loud. But if you listen real close you can hear how they perceive themselves.

Reality and perception are two very different things. Then to complicate it more, spiritual reality (what God says) is very different then physical reality (how we see things).

Here’s a quote “And lest you think I’m being judgmental, let me just say–I’m absolutely convinced that I have spiritual blind spots. I would tell you what they are…but I don’t know them! Sometimes my wife tries to point out my blind spots to me, but she’s always wrong about them–so I’m still not sure! Sometimes my closest staff tries to hint at what’s wrong but they never fully understand!” John Burke

HERE’S YOUR SIGN: He has a great list of signs you may have a self perception problem at the above link.

Now back to the first quote…the self we build…

Over time we build a “self”. It is a hollow shell. Every evil thing that ever befell us. That horrible tragedy, that hurtful word, that terrible experience that we pushed into a very deep, dark part of our “selves”. That part we never talk about because it brings back bad memories or feelings. Since we don’t like to cry because that could make us seem weak, we just grin and bear it. Like it never happened. But it did. Now what.

There is only one solution. Let God deal with it. Yes, as abstract an answer that is it really works.

Let it out, stop pushing it down when it rises up within you. Tell God about it like you are telling your closest friend your deepest, darkest secrets. Let out the cry, let out the yell. Forgive people that did it. Forgive yourself. Repent if needed. And let him heal your wounds.

It’s amazing the scars we carry and we were never intended to. But we believe the lies we tell ourselves. We are a prisoner of our own device when we hold onto it and call it “mine”.

This blog is part of a ministry that helps people with these problems. You are not alone. There is help.

Prayer:

Heavenly Father, I can’t do it by myself anymore. I give it to you. Shine your truth into my hurt and pain. Show me your ways. I ask you to heal this wound and tell me your truth about this situation. In Jesus name, Amen

Today, it’s time to start…

Here are some past posts that could help you take this further.

Thoughts Reveal Your Heart

Lesson: Identity 

Identity Theft

 

 

photo credit: ABBones via photopin cc

photo credit: ABBones via photopin cc

Leave a Reply

