Authority & Power

keysKeys to Freedom
• Name of Jesus –Authority & Power
• Blood of the Lamb – forgiveness
• Word of God – weapon

Are you struggling with hang ups, issues, addictions, depression, etc…

God has provided freedom for you. Yet many believers still struggle because they don’t understand the authority and power that God has given them through Jesus Christ. Believers get the whole forgiveness, repentance thing, yet leave the authority part on the table thinking that must be for the pastors. teachers, and evangelists.

The truth is that all believers are afforded the privilege of the delegated authority and should be using it. God is waiting for you to put your faith to work by exercising this authority.

Here is a brief word study to see how the authority and power is not in our own might but in the mighty power of God through the name of Jesus. Understanding this helps to realize that we can never be powerful enough in our own strength to tear down the strongholds and lies of the enemy. But through the power of the Lord and applying it to our lives in a real and practical way we can see the enemy defeated and live in bondage to all those hang ups.

Ephesians 6:10 Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of his might.

Strong-endunamoo (Grk), meaning to empower, enable, increase in strength, make strong

Power-kratos (Grk), meaning dominion, power, strength

Lord-kurios (Grk), meaning supreme authority

Luke 10:19 I have given you authority to trample on snakes and scorpions and to overcome all the power of the enemy; nothing will harm you

Authority = power, exousia (Grk) from a root work exesti (be lawful), meaning privilege, capacity, competency, freedom, delegated authority, strength
To tread on serpents= ophis (Grk)a snake figuratively as a type of sly cunning or artful, malicious person, Satan
And scorpions= skopeo (Grk), from root word skopos, akin to the idea of concealment, watch like a sentry or scout.
Over all power of the enemy= dunamis (Grk), force, miraculous power, violence, strength,
Authority is given, not taken, involves privilege, it is delegated power and influence.

God is the ultimate authority & authority giver: Matt 28:18, Col 2:15, Heb 2:14,

How to walk in authority:

• Soaking in His Word-listening, reading, studying, & talking about His Word
• Meditating on His Word
• Stand in boldness and speak the Word of God
• Can only walk in authority if you have Jesus as your Lord and Savior, there is no authority without Him

Jesus’ authority is recognized by nature, physical bodies & spiritual entities:

• Demons recognized His authority
• Healed the sick
• Calmed the storms

What are the things He gave authority for us to do?

• Do greater works than these, John 14:12 Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.
• Signs shall follow: cast out demons, speak in new tongues, heal the sick,
Mark 16:17-18 “These signs will accompany those who have believed: in My name they will cast out demons, they will speak with new tongues; 18they will pick up serpents, and if they drink any deadly poison, it will not hurt them; they will lay hands on the sick, and they will recover.”
• Have the Holy Spirit, John 14:26 But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you.
• Resist the devil and he will flee, James 4:7
• To edify others and bring grace to others 2 Cor 13:10
• To be examples to others 2 Thess 3:9
• Bind and destroy the work of the devil, Matt 16:19 I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven; whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth will be loosed in heaven.”
• Use the keys to the Kingdom, Matt 16:19
• Call ourselves by His name, 2 Cor 4:5 For what we preach is not ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, and ourselves as your servants for Jesus’ sake.
• Use His name and the power of His blood Claim the inheritance
Eph 1:11-14, In him we have obtained an inheritance, having been predestined according to the purpose of him who works all things according to the counsel of his will, so that we who were the first to hope in Christ might be to the praise of his glory. In him you also, when you heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation, and believed in him, were sealed with the promised Holy Spirit, who is the guarantee of our inheritance until we acquire possession of it, to the praise of his glory

• Ask for His grace which is sufficient

• Raise the dead Luke 4:18
• Speak the Word of God in power to change situations
• Do the will of God as it is in Heaven
• His power works in us, Eph 3:20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us,
• His power is in earthen vessels 2 Cor 4:7

We are commissioned to:

Teach, baptize, heal the sick, raise the dead, make disciples, and to proclaim the good news
We are warned to stay away form a form of godliness that denies the power (2 Tim 3:5)

You may have all kinds of thoughts go through your head when you first start taking authority over the issues, sicknesses, and hang ups in your own life. Be aware that every thought in your head is not always your own. The enemy will accuse you, accuse God and make you feel powerless. Know that God hears every prayer. There is no formula or magic wand needed. He just loves you and hears you when you pray sincerely from your heart and it moves Him. Even when you don’t see a reaction or change immediately, know that He hears you and is working. He ways are higher than our ways and His thoughts higher than ours. We don’t always understand but we can always trust. Keep praying.

Why do we not walk in the power & authority given to us?
Fear, powerless feeling, victim mentality

Prayer:

Father, I purpose and choose to repent for my fear of ….(fill in the blanks). That keeps me from walking and trusting in your authority over all power of the enemy. In Jesus name cleanse me from all this fear and unbelief. Give me revelation of your glorious might, power and authority that you freely give me. Show me how to use this authority to glorify you. Amen.

Prayer for powerless feeling:

Father, I purpose and choose to repent for this feeling of powerlessness that I have believed the lies of the enemy. I relent from this belief and turn away from this lie. In Jesus name cleanse me from all the power of the enemy that has affected me through belief in this lie. I forgive myself for believing this lie. Lord, help me walk in your truth and give me revelation of your power and authority for my life. Amen.

Prayer for victim mentality:

Father, I purpose and choose to repent for believing that I can do nothing or shouldn’t do anything. I repent for waiting for someone else to work for me in this area of delegated authority for my life from you. I turn away from all beliefs that this isn’t for me, or I can’t, or I’m not strong enough or don’t know enough to fight the enemy. I choose to believe what your Word says. I choose to take up my sword (Word of God) and my shield of faith and breastplate of righteousness and fight. Lord, give me the wisdom, knowledge and strength to do your will. Show me how to fight the enemy in my life. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

