Lesson 3: Pray the Word of God in Faith

3. I learned how to pray the Word of God.

I don’t know how I missed this in 13 years of marriage. Being raised in a christian home, I was taught so much as a Pastor’s daughter with a Dad and Mother that were godly people that lived what they preached. But somehow, I missed this truth of praying the WORD!

It was years later and even now I am still learning how to pray effectively.

At some point I will write about the power of prayer and the various types of prayer. Prayer in faith to our Heavenly Father is the single most important action you will ever do in a day. This is where you fight the war!

I am not usually disciplined enough to pray as I should. But with God’s help that is changing. If I want a godly family, husband and life, I must PRAY!

King James Bible (Cambridge Ed.) So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.

Use that Sword!

God does not leave us without defense. He gave us everything we would ever need to defeat the enemy in our lives and our family. One of those is the Sword of the Spirit, The Word of God. It can be an offensive weapon or a defensive weapon. Go on the offensive for the your husband.

1. Study

Search out scriptures to find every verse that applies to your situation. Write them down so that you remember them. Underline/highlight, whatever you need to do.

2. Pray with Faith

My Mom used to say “Say it like you mean it.” That’s the way you should pray the Word for your husband. In sincerity and like you believe God will accomplish what His Word says He will accomplish. You don’t fight-God fights for you when you pray. It’s FAITH!

3. Pray with Authority

You and your husband are “one”. The Bible tells us that. (Eph 5:31)

When you pray for your husband it is as if he is praying for himself. That’s how much authority you have over the things of the enemy when you pray for your husband.

Pray those scriptures over your husband daily. This is spiritual warfare and effectual prayer.

Example:

2 Peter 3:18 (ESV) But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be the glory both now and to the day of eternity. Amen.
“I pray that my husband (name) will grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. That he will glorify him both now and for eternity.”
Proverbs 3:7 (ESV) Be not wise in your own eyes;

fear the Lord, and turn away from evil.

“I pray that my husband (name) will not be wise in his own eyes but fear the Lord, and turn away from evil.”

Acts 26:18(NIV) to open their eyes and turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan to God, so that they may receive forgiveness of sins and a place among those who are sanctified by faith in me.’

2 Cor 4:4-6 (NIV) The god of this age has blinded the minds of unbelievers, so that they cannot see the light of the gospel of glory of Christ, who is the image of God. …For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Christ.

“I pray that you open the eyes of my husband and turn him from darkness to light and from the power of Satan to God; so that he may receive forgiveness of sins and a place among those who are sanctified by faith in Jesus Christ. I pray that the light of the gospel of Jesus Christ shine in his heart to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of god that is in Christ Jesus.”

Pray the Fruits of the Spirit over your husband (or any other Word of God). Start by placing his name in front of each fruit (trait) …”John is patient, John is kind, etc…”

Don’t grow weary in well doing. Keep praying.

Hebrews 11:1 Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.

Just because you don’t see any OUTWARD changes keep trusting in God that HE is working inwardly in your husbands heart.

Leave a Reply

